Reflections on Fourth Foundation of Mindfulness


  1. Continue your practice of being mindful of the breath and body sensations.
  2. Read the section on the hindrances in the Sattipatthana Sutta before you sit. Notice the presence or absence of the hindrances in your meditation and daily life. Can you become aware of the conditions that allow a hindrance to arise, to persist or to cease?

The Dhammas of the Fourth Foundation of Mindfulness:

  • Five Hindrances: sensual desire, aversion, sloth and torpor, restlessness and worry, doubt
  • Five Aggregates: form, feelings, perceptions, mental formations, consciousness
  • Six Sense Bases: the eye and sights, ear and sounds, nose and smells, tongue and tastes, body and sensations, mind and objects of mind
  • Seven Factors of Enlightenment: mindfulness, investigation, energy, rapture, tranquility, concentration, equanimity

Four Noble Truths:

  1. There is suffering.
  2. There is the origin of suffering.
  3. There is the cessation of suffering.
  4. There is the way leading to the cessation of suffering (Eight-fold Path).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s